Sunday, November 27
Follow us

The Old Mill Inn On Mattituck Inlet

HISTORIC DINING DESTINATION IS ON THE MARKET

Upon returning from the War of 1812, Samuel Cox constructed a tidal mill on Mattituck Inlet. The mechanism was able to harness both the incoming and outgoing tides, and was considered to be a feat of engineering in its day. The millstone itself still exists on a corner of the building and the driveshaft still stands as a pillar in the pub.

By the turn of the century, the East End had become a destination spot for travelers and tourist. The gristmill was sold to the Riverhead bottling company, Yetter and Moore, and converted into a popular tavern.

The storm of 1906 destroyed the tidal dam that connected East and West Mill Road adjacent to the Old Mill. Southold Town Board elected to replace it with a swivel bridge allowing boats to continue up or down creek when it was “swiveled” open. Patrons of the tavern were often asked to abandon their drinks at the bar and help crank the bridge open for yachting traffic.

During Prohibition, the proximity of the Mattituck Inlet to Manhattan made the creek a popular drop-off spot for rumrunners, and tales of bootlegging in the area are legend. There is still a drop door in the floor near the kitchen of the restaurant that allowed boats to readily transfer “hooch” during low tide when rumrunner skiffs could sneak in under the pier.

With the completion of the LIRR, Mattituck grew as a tourist destination with hotels and rooming houses popping up in and around Mattituck. The Old Mill Inn enticed vacationers with promotions of “Dining and Dancing” at the lovely waterfront location.

In 1939 George Naugles opened the restaurant and bar. Manager Otto Magdefrau encouraged patrons to carve their names on the overhead exposed beams. The names are still visible in the pub room where you will find a historic wood burning fireplace and a portion of the original circular mill mechanism that serves as the bar.

Today’s Old Mill combines its historic past with a modern flair. The restaurant features a farm & sea-to-table menu, Long Island wine and beer, open air dining deck, daily oyster happy hour and live music on many nights. Patrons, enjoying scenic views in all seasons, arrive by land or by sea to the transient docking on site.

Come experience this unique North Fork dining destination!

Deborah Kusa
Douglas Elliman Real Estate
Associate R.E. Broker
Cell: 631.377.2871
[email protected]