Sunday, December 04
Follow us

Discover Jamesport

The hamlet of Jamesport, first settled in the 1690s, was originally called Aquebogue then Lower Aquebogue. In 1833, James Tuthill and his family settled the area south of Lower Aquebogue, which then became known as “Jamesport.” This charming town, situated between the Great Peconic Bay on the south and Long Island Sound on the north, features quaint “farm to table” restaurants, shops, vineyards, farms, and beaches. Come experience the hamlet of Jamesport and you will be transported back to a simpler time. Here are but a few of the wonderful places to discover on your tour.

The Meeting House at Jamesport, on 1590 Main Road, built in 1731 by the pioneer settlers of Riverhead Town, is the oldest public building on the East End of Long Island. The building was on the market as commercial real estate until it was acquired in 2008 by the Jamesport Meeting House Preservation Trust with Richard Wines as its President. It is now a town landmark and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It also is a not-for-profit venue for events, including classical concerts, Broadway performances, bluegrass, folk music, Shakespeare, civic association meetings, and weddings.

Jedediah Hawkins Inn located at 400 South Jamesport Avenue features fine American cuisine using locally sourced ingredients with fresh seafood, local produce, and local wines. This landmark Victorian mansion, originally built by Captain Jedediah Hawkins in 1863 in an Italianate style, was restored in 2005. The property is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Barn at Jedediah Hawkins Inn was built in 2005 when the Inn was restored on the original footprint of the old 1863 barn. It is now an art gallery space.

The Jamesport Manor Inn on 370 Manor Lane is owned by Matthew Kar. In 2005, he renovated the original c. 1880 Dimon Mansion, but in the process it burnt down. It was rebuilt replicating the architecture of the original Manor, which opened in 2007. Features New American Cuisine with a Mediterranean flair by Executive Chef Jeff Russell using locally sourced produce, fresh fish, and local wines.

Main Road Biscuit Co. on 1601 Main Road, owned by Marissa Drago, opened in the fall of 2016. Serving breakfast and lunch, featuring comfort food from scratch, including buttermilk biscuits, house made jams, fried chicken, Belgian style seasonal pancakes, sandwiches, grassfed burgers, salads, baked goods, and smoothies; all ingredients locally sourced whenever possible. Local craft beer and wine will be offered in the near future. Seating out front is currently available; back deck will open in the spring. See story on page 30.

The Jamesport Country Store, owned by the Waldman family for almost 45 years, is in the Old Telephone Company Building on 1299 Main Road. Enjoy a variety of vintage goods, handmade crafts, local photography, candles, soaps, books, old-fashioned toys, candy, and assorted collectibles.

The Red Barn is an antique shop behind Duffy’s Deli on Main Road, owned by Dan and Susan McAllister since 2015 (owners of In the Attic Too in Laurel). Features architectural salvage, barn board, barn beams, reclaimed materials, repurpose vintage and antique furniture, farm tables, and cabinets for the do-it-yourselfer.

Jamesport Vineyards on 1216 Main Road was established in 1986 when Ron Goerler, Sr. acquired a 165-year old barn that now houses the winery and tasting room in Jamesport. Together with his son, Ron Goerler, Jr., they began Jamesport Vineyards in 1989, a 60-acre vineyard, producing up to 5,000 cases of wine per year. A large outdoor patio overlooks the great lawn. Offers wood-fired flat breads and small bites. Featuring Sauvignon Blanc, Cabernet Franc, Chardonnay, Riesling, and Merlot. Open year-round.

Sherwood House Vineyards Tasting Room is located in an old Tuthill farmhouse at 1291 Main Road in Jamesport. Alexander Rosanelli and Alfredo Apolloni purchased the 38-acre Mattituck vineyard in 2015 from Barbara Smithen, who founded it in 1996 along with her late husband Dr. Charles Smithen. The Tasting Room presents Sherwood House wines, produced by winemaker Gilles Martin, and the new Hound’s Tree label, produced by Alexander with Apolloni Vineyards, featuring Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Rosé, and Chardonnay. Open year-round with live music on Saturdays.

Diliberto Winery located on 250 Manor Lane on four acres, owned by Sal and Maryann Diliberto, opened in 2007. Their tasting room has the décor of a piazza in Italy with guests seated at bistro tables with views of the magnificent interior mural and outside on the patio overlooking their manicured lawns and vineyard. Features Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Rosé, and Merlot. Open from May through November.

Jason’s Vineyard on 1785 Main Road is on 20 acres and was founded in 1996 by the late Jason Damianos, son of the late Dr. Dan Damianos who founded Pindar Vineyards in Peconic and Duck Walk Vineyards, North (Southold) and South (Water Mill). The vineyard features 13 different labels including Chardonnay, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Malbec. Their tasting room bar is in the shape of the Greek mythological ship from “Jason and the Argonauts” and has a beautiful outdoor deck. Alpacas and sheep graze in the yard. Open year-round, free live music is performed every weekend from early April through the end of November.

Clovis Point Vineyard and Winery on 1935 Main Road on 10 acres, owned by the Misk family was established in 2001. Their tasting room is in a renovated potato barn with a heated patio overlooking the vineyard. Featuring award-winning wines Cabernet Franc, Sauvignon Blanc, Merlot, Chardonnay, and Rosé. Open year-round, offering live music, Yoga in the Vineyard, and occasional artist receptions on weekends.

Harbes Family Farm owned by Ed and Monica Harbes, a thirteenth-generation farming family, features three fun-filled theme farms, including the Western Farm at 1223 Main Road in Jamesport with fun activities for kids and adults. The 44-acre Western Farm, open July 1 – October 31, includes Frontier Land for kids with pony rides, musical hayrides, and a Western Corn Maze.

Gabrielsen’s Country Farm, a family owned and operated farm and flower stand, begun in 1969 by George Gabrielsen and his brother Tom, is located at 200 Herricks Lane. Featuring an outstanding collection of annuals, perennials, vegetables, herbs, shrubs, bouquets, and garden decorations. Selection changes with the seasons. Bouncy houses and playground area open for kids to enjoy in the Fall. Open mid-March through December 24. 

Jamesport captures the essence of the North Fork, especially with its beautiful beaches, South Jamesport Beach on the bay, and Iron Pier Beach on the Sound. From its historic Meeting House and landmark inns to an old-fashioned country store amidst bustling wineries and fun-filled farms, Jamesport is the quintessential North Fork town.