Follow us

A North Fork Classic

Price: $719,000
Location: Greenport
3 Bedrooms
1.5 Bathrooms
2,200 SF
.25 Acres
MLS: *1228656

In 1640, Pastor John Youngs led a band of adventurous Puritans across Long Island Sound and into a safe harbor at Founders’ Landing in Southold, thus establishing a little settlement in the wilderness. With Pastor Youngs on that momentous voyage was his 17 year old son, John. By 1688, the now Colonel John Youngs, who owned a house in Southold across the road from his father, decided to build his homestead from the timber on a wooded site at the head of Sterling Creek. This was a prominent structure for those days, substantially built with oak beams 18” thick. The farm surrounding this house covered all of what today is Greenport and much more. This handcrafted timber frame construction method still showcases the oak timbers and wide pine floors so hard a nail can hardly be driven in for repairs. It is said Colonel Youngs preferred living in this Greenport house, which he referred to as his “summer home,” according to articles found in Historic Houses Of the North Fork and Shelter Island.
In a circa 1900’s newspaper clipping, Albert Delafield of Manhattan had erected a fine residence to the north of the Youngs Estate and found the homestead completely hid his view of Greenport Harbor. He succeeded in buying half of the estate which stood the historic homestead, and then it was announced that the old house must be removed by May 1. The home was then moved up the hill to Champlin Estates. The weaving mill was moved to Mr. Delafield’s home, and the original dirt floor kitchen was moved to Second Street. The property has just come off of an extensive renovation with freshly plastered walls, refinished pine floors, new cedar shake roof, kitchen, bathroom and more.
Prop SC Photo 2
Experience the history as you explore this Greenport Classic!

Jerry Cibulski
Century 21 Albertson Realty
Associate R.E. Broker
Cell: 631.404.2507
[email protected]

Prop SC Photo 3